Mendelssohn and Cramer [CD] - The American Piano Duo with the BYU Philharmonic Orchestra

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Orders ship within 1-3 business days.


As featured in Gramaphone magazine, the American Piano Duo and the Brigham Young University Philharmonic Orchestra present the world premiere recording of Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Two Pianos in E major, featuring the concerto’s first movement restored to its original form thanks to research by musicologist Steve Lindeman. This new recording illuminates Mendelssohn’s youthful genius and includes an in-depth scholarly essay originally published in Musical Quarterly. Critics and publications from London to Seoul attest to its historical and musical value.

Click "Add to Cart" above to purchase this CD.

Or DOWNLOAD or STREAM from your favorite digital platform below:




Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra in E Major
Felix Mendelssohn [1809–1847]
The American Piano Duo: Jeffrey Shumway and Del Parkinson; with the BYU Philharmonic Orchestra, Kory Katseanes, conductor
1. Original version of the first movement, 1823: Allegro maestoso [world premiere recording]

2. Second movement: Andante

3. Third movement: Allegro vivace

4. Revised version of the first movement (c 1830): Allegro vivace

Piano Concerto no. 8 in D Minor, op. 70
John Baptist Cramer [1771–1858]
Jeffrey Shumway with the BYU Philharmonic Orchestra, Kory Katseanes, conductor
5. First movement: Moderato assai

6. Second movement: Larghetto

7. Cramer’s published cadenza to the second movement

8. Finale: Rondo à L’Espagniola


Produced by Ron Simpson

Recorded by Jon Holloman at the de Jong Concert Hall, BYU

Digital editing and mastering by Troy Sales, in consultation with Jeffrey Shumway and Kory Katseanes

Tantara Records is an enterprise center in the School of Music at Brigham Young University, and part of the College of Fine Arts and Communications.